District Striking Competitions

Wisbech District Ring Something Simple Novice Competition

Held at Walsoken, 7th Sept 2019, 3 - 5 pm Rules are here

Wisbech District Six Bell Method Section Competition Rules

  1. All participants shall be Sunday service ringers from within the Wisbech District, and no ringer may ring for more than two teams.
  2. Teams may be affiliated to a tower or non-affiliated (i.e. scratch teams). Scratch teams will be judged the same as the affiliated teams, but may not be awarded the trophy. In the event of a scratch team winning the competition, the trophy will go to the affiliated team with the fewest errors.
  3. Each affiliated team must have at least three ringers who are regular ringers at that tower.
  4. No two teams may have more than two ringers in common.
  5. At least 50% of the team must be members of the EDA.
  6. The test piece will be 120 changes of Minor (or Doubles with the tenor covering). Changes may be repeated, for example 12 leads of Plain Hunt Doubles or 3 plain courses of Plain Bob Doubles would be acceptable. Teams from 5 bell towers may ring Doubles with no covering bell (advise the organiser prior to the competition).
  7. Each team will be allowed 4 minutes to practise immediately before their competition begins. This would include rope adjustment and box positioning. Two whole pulls on the treble will indicate the start of the test piece to the judges
  8. Only members of each competition team will be allowed in the ringing chamber for the duration of the test piece; the conductor must be a member of the team.
  9. Marking will begin on the first change and finish when returned to rounds: When the band has completed practice time, the judges should be alerted by two whole pulls on the treble. There should then be at least one minute of rounds, which will not be marked, before going into the test piece. Judging stops when the change ringing comes round and following rounds will not be judged.
  10. Speed of ringing is not a critical factor, it is STRIKING evenly that counts
  11. The judges' decisions are final.

As updated 28/09/2019

Wisbech District Six Bell Novices Section Competition Rules

Note - in 2019 the Novices Section was replaced by the Ring Something Simple competition, see rules here.

Ringers attending will have their names entered into a draw to form random teams. Teams of FOUR people to ring will be drawn (each ringing on the inside). The treble and tenor will always be rung by more experienced ringers. Depending on the numbers attending those entering can be placed in more than two teams

  1. There will be 1 minute practice time allowed per team.
  2. The ringing for each team starts on 3 whole pulls of the treble (6 strikes).
  3. Rounds will be rung for 3 minutes (these rounds will be judged).
  4. Following on from rounds, simple call changes will be rung for 3 minutes (which will be judged too), as;
    • 3 to 4 (so 4 goes to 2)
    • 2 to 4 (so 4 goes to the treble)
    • 3 to 5 (so 5 goes to the 2) Tittums – Nominally 2 minutes ringing, then...
    • 5 to 3 (so 3 goes to the 2)
    • 4 to 2 (so 2 to the treble)
    • Rounds – and stand.
  5. The rounds score and the call changes score will be combined for that team.
  6. The experienced ringers (treble or tenor) will call the call changes (calling up).
  7. The experienced ringers can offer gentle advice to all teams for better ringing.


a) You need to be able to ring rounds and call changes comfortably to enter.

b) You don’t need permission from your tower captain to enter.

c) Any number of members from any Wisbech District tower can participate.

d) Entrants will be ringing with people from other towers

e) Ringing should be at your best. You will have more than one opportunity to ring.

f) The more ringers that enter from any one Wisbech tower increases their tower’s chances of winning!

g) In the event of a tie a tie-breaker ring will happen.

h) As a Wisbech District Ringing competition you need represent a Wisbech District Tower to win.



2020 (not held) 2019 2018 2017 (not held) 2016 2015 2014 2013 2012 (not held) 2011 2010 2009